Task Forces

CO2 Task Force 2015

The Princeton University CO2 Task Force was convened by President Chris Eisgruber in 2015 to further frame Princeton’s role in meaningful climate stabilization demonstration and impact beyond the University’s current 2020 CO2 reduction target. Appointed members included noted faculty in a range of related fields as well as administrative staff. Recommendations generated by the Task Force and submitted in December 2015  are intended to inform the 2026 Campus Plan, the Sustainability Action Plan: Toward 2026 and Beyond, enhance the community’s sustainability ethos, and result in meaningful impact if applied broadly. The Task Force has advanced an approach that thoughtfully balances Princeton’s leadership imperative for early adoption and innovation with its obligation to demonstrate approaches that are repeatable by others. 


Denise L. Mauzerall


Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Public and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School. Acting Director, Center for Science, Technology and Environmental Policy

KyuJung Whang


Vice President for Facilities

Michael A. Celia

Theodora Shelton Pitney Professor of Environmental Studies. Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Director, High Meadows Environmental Institute.

Amy B. Craft

Professional Specialist, Woodrow Wilson School and the Program in Science, Technology, and Environmental Policy. Lecturer in Public and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School

Marc Fleurbaey

Robert E. Kuenne Professor in Economics and Humanistic Studies. Professor of Public Affairs and the University Center for Human Values

Michael Oppenheimer

Albert G. Milbank Professor of Geosciences and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School. Director, Center for Science Technology and Environmental Policy

Stephen W. Pacala

Frederick D. Petrie Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Peter A. Singer

Ira W. DeCamp Professor of Bioethics in the University Center for Human Values

Fabian Wagner

Visiting Research Scholar, the Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment and the Woodrow Wilson School. Gerhard R. Andlinger Visiting Professor in Energy and the Environment

David S. Wilcove

Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School

Thomas A. Nyquist

Executive Director, Engineering and Campus Energy

Shana S. Weber

Director, Office of Sustainability

In 2015, the University’s faculty-led CO2 Task Force recommended criteria to guide greenhouse gas reduction decisions. Since then, these criteria have been integrated with campus and infrastructure master planning, as well as operational planning.