Sustainability Steering Council

The Sustainability Steering Council is a gathering of faculty and Cabinet-level administrators appointed by Princeton's Executive Vice President. Launched in 2013, the Council is charged with advancing the institution's overarching goal of using the campus itself as a demonstration of sustainable systems to inform and develop leadership potential in all students, through teaching and research. The council strives to ensure that students are equipped to meaningfully employ the principles of sustainability in their future endeavors, no matter the discipline or field. 

The Steering Council principles are referenced on the Princeton University 2026 Campus Planning website.

SSC Current Members

Lynn Loo
Theodora D. '78 and William H. Walton III '74 Professor in Engineering, Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering. Director, Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment. Associate Director, Program in Technology and Society
KyuJung Whang
Vice President for Facilities
Rene A. Carmona
Academic Member
Paul M. Wythes '55 Professor of Engineering and Finance. Professor of Operations Research and Financial Engineering
Michael A. Celia
Academic Member
Theodora Shelton Pitney Professor of Environmental Studies. Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Director, Princeton Environmental Institute.
Pablo G. Debenedetti
Academic Member
Dean for Research. Class of 1950 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science. Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering.
Sanjeev R. Kulkarni
Academic Member
Dean of the Faculty. William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Electrical Engineering.
Ilyana Kuziemko
Academic Member
Professor of Economics, Economics Department
Denise L. Mauzerall
Academic Member
Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Public and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School. Acting Director, Center for Science, Technology and Environmental Policy
Stephen W. Pacala
Academic Member
Frederick D. Petrie Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Gideon A. Rosen
Academic Member
Stuart Professor of Philosophy. Chair, Council of the Humanities. Director, Program in Humanistic Studies. Director, Stewart Seminars in Religion. Director, Program in Linguistics
Eldar Shafir
Academic Member
William Stewart Tod Professor of Psychology and Public Affairs
W. Rochelle Calhoun
Administrative Member
Vice President for Campus Life
Jill S. Dolan
Administrative Member
Dean of the College. Annan Professor in English. Professor of Theater in the Lewis Center for the Arts.
Chad L. Klaus
Administrative Member
Vice President, University Services
Shana S. Weber
Director, Office of Sustainability
Claire M. Fowler
Administrative Member
Senior Associate Dean of the College, Office of the Dean of the College.
Elke U. Weber
Academic Member
Gerhard R. Andlinger Professor in Energy and the Environment, Professor of Psychology and Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School. Associate Director for Education, Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment.